Talk with Projects in Sustainability Class – Santa Barbara City College

Last week I journeyed across the U.S. to meet up with our wonderful California Regional Staff. They invited me out to help them with some outreach presentations and some strategic planning for the year. Great things. Great fun. I love their staff.

The trip started Saturday evening when I went into NYC to meet up with some friends, and crash before a very early 6am flight out of JFK. Flight went well…mostly. They sent my bag to the Bahamas. Woo. Not so much. I was fine though. We went to get some supplies and definitely survived a few days sans my stuff.

So I normally I wouldn’t complain about something like that in a blog post, but I felt it had a great connection to the presentation that I gave yesterday. So here goes. Yesterday, I had the great pleasure of speaking with Dr. Adam Green’s Projects in Sustainability Class. I was only expecting about 20 or so students, but I guess Dr. Green was able to get the word out and I think all in all there were about 60 people there. That was really exciting.

We started the presentation with a group of young ladies from Santa Barbara High School discussing what they had been doing for Roots & Shoots. They had a really creative idea to hold a fashion show each year to raise funds for a specific charity. Their first was Save Darfur as an example. After these ladies finished I went into my speal about Roots & Shoots, Dr. Jane, chimpanzees etc…

After my presentation we had a bit of time for questions. Now normally in my presentations I talk about chimp conservation and Dr. Jane. People usually have questions about those things, but this time it was different. This time all the questions were directed at Dr. Green and how people could get involved on campus. It was the coolest thing ever. Not that they didn’t appreciate the information about Dr. Jane and chimps, but their focus was solely on making their campus more sustainable. I later found out that this class, Projects in Sustainability was created by the Student Sustainability Coalition. Their campus club created a class where they could explore doing sustainability projects in their own communities and get credit for it! How amazing is that? I have included the course description below in case anyone reading this post is interested in getting similar courses going on their campuses.

ENVST 200 — Projects in Sustainability (2) S — CSU
Students work in groups to develop or continue projects that make the college and local community more sustainable (meets the needs of the present without compromising the needs of future generations to meet their own needs). Lectures, discussions and workshops provide the student with current knowledge in environmental science, sustainable practices, and real world skills needed to implement practical solutions to local environmental and social problemsSo I draw a connection between this presentation, and my lost luggage, because no matter what I could do, their drive and dedication to make their campus more sustainable, made my luggage situation seem so…not important. I could go daysssss wearing the same clothes just hearing their enthusiasm and excitement.

So Dr. Green, your students in Projects in Sustainabiltiy, and the SBCC Student Sustainaiblity Coalition…ROCK ON!

Leave a Reply

