Peace – PSA #8

This PSA was created by:

Itai
I am a master’s student at Iowa State University majoring in Anthropology guided by Prof. Sue Savage-Rumbaugh, Prof. Jill D. Pruetz and Prof. Lisa Fontaine for a master’s in Chimpanzee Representational Symbology. I received my bachelor’s in Social History and Arts at Tel-Hai Academic College, Northern Galilee, Israel. In addition, I am involved in a number of humanitarian and environmental projects, including promoting peace in the Middle East by helping raise awareness to those in need of humanitarian aid in the Syrian Ragar Village, as well as promoting non-human hominid rights for the purpose of lifetime hostel sanctuaries for Chimpanzees, Gorillas and Orangutans in captivity. Since the year 2000 I have led Roots & Shoots lectures and educational programs in dozens of clubs, schools, and universities. I helped save the endangered species of the Syrian Cat-Eyed Spade Footed Frog by convincing the municipality of Herzliya to protect an Israeli wetland called “Bassa.” I am the coordinator of The Jane Goodall Institute’s R&S Israel, and a board member of Negiot an Israeli Autistic and Communuicationally Disabled Children’s Association. My articles include ” King of The Wetland ” and “Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité’ in Ma’ariv National Newspaper Weekend Edition. In 2005 I received the Dr. James Gillihan Award for a Life of Peacemaking presented at the Teachers of Experiential and Adventure Methodologies (TEAM) Conference, from the North Eastern Illinois University. I was recently invited to present my research at the 2007 JGI Chimpanzoo Conference at Wichita, Kansas.

Deus
I am a 23-year old Tanzanian and a very active member of Roots & Shoots. I am currently traveling around the United States to raise awareness about the Roots & Shoots program and Roots & Shoots projects in Tanzania. Roots & Shoots is in my blood and in my heart. My projects range from keeping baboons out of fields to teaching villagers about more efficient adobe ovens.

Maria
I am currently a senior at Nauset Regional High School. My school based activities consist of student government, world music ensemble (where I play the guitar), varsity tennis, debate club, Invisible Children, and Model United Nations. I have also participated in French exchange and have helped with German exchange events. Outside of school I am very involved with volunteer work, because I am passionate about helping the environment, my community and solving world conflict. I am also involved with Habitat for Humanity, Roots & Shoots, and Cape Cod Youth Council on Sustainability. I am passionate about learning about the world, especially through my studies in international relations. My dream is to work for UNICEF or be an American ambassador for Germany. I have won a variety of awards including: the German Award, Tennis Award, Smith College Book Award and Adam’s Scholarship.

Farouq
I am from Jordan and am now a second-year student in the NYIT (New York Institute of Technology) University in Jordan, studying business MIS. I lived in Nablus-Palestine until 2003, but my parents sent me to Amman to continue studying in school, because in the West Bank we don’t go to school everyday. For the past two years, I have helped out with children’s games at my school’s Food Fair day. I also helped organize a talent show as part of my group’s efforts to fundraise for the tsunami victims. One of the most amazing things I have done is to work with the Palestinian Medical Relief Society. This society helps injured people by sending food and milk to families when they can’t leave their homes. In my university last year, my friends and I gathered clothes from students to give to those without enough.

Haya
I am an 18-year old Palestinian student. I am studying business at Al Najah University where I am a freshman. I have worked with several organizations, including PYALARA. PYALARA conducts workshops to discuss issues related to my community and we have announced our accomplishments to the community through national television stations. I have conducted a workshop about gender discrimination. I also participated in the Cultural Children’s Club in Nablus where we conducted activities for teenagers and children. I was one of the representatives from my country chosen to participate in a program called Hands of Peace, for which I was chosen to be an Extraordinary Leader.

Learn more about the Jane Goodall Institute!

Learn more about Roots & Shoots, a program of the Jane Goodall Institute!

Learn more about Jane Goodall’s Global Youth Summit!

Leave a Reply

