Wildife Conservation – PSA #6

Note:
The makers of this PSA have since gone on to form the Global Youth Council for Wildlife Conservation. A group of young people dedicated and passionate about conserving the wildlife of our planet. Check out their website, www.youthforwildlife.org.

This PSA was created by:

Camden
I was born in the small town of Denton, Texas. In Texas I attended Woodrow Wilson elementary school where I played football, soccer and baseball. When I was 11 years old my family moved to Eureka, California where my father achieved a job as a professor at Humboldt State University. I am now a sophomore at North Coast Preparatory and Performing Arts Academy where I am part of the Youth Actors Guild. I recently performed in productions of “King Henry the IV and V,” “Cyrano de Bergerac” and with the San Francisco Operas production of “The Barber of Seville” (I had a non-singing part in the opera). I have also been volunteering at the Sequoia Park Zoo for the past six years, doing over 700 hours of work. When I turned 16 in 2007, the zoo gave me a job as a zookeeper, which I greatly enjoy. I also helped to start the Sequoia Park Zoo chapter of Roots and Shoots, for which I am currently treasurer. I was a member of my school’s cross country team until I was injured in 2006. I also recently obtained my drivers license as well as my life guard certification. I have also had the privilege of going on international trips with my parents, the majority of which have been to Europe and Central America.

Xin
I am a graduate student at Sichuan University majoring in evolution with a focus on amphibians and reptiles. I have been involved in a student organization called Sichuan University Environmental Volunteer Association (SCUEVA) since 2002. This involvement has played an important role in my university life because it has provided me with many opportunities to participate in different kinds of projects: battery recycling on campus and surrounding communities; environmental education on campus, parks and elementary schools; holding a discussion forum on environmental topics; fundraising and managing books in our reading room. I was president of the association from August 2006 to June 2007 and received one of the Top 10 Leaders Awards in my university. As SCUEVA has wide connections with other NGOs and student clubs, I have found an avenue to learn more about conservation jobs. I have been a volunteer in WWF and helped to finish the GIS maps of some giant panda nature reserves. At present, I could say I am the most experienced Roots & Shoots volunteer for the South West Office. I love wildlife! I always had a hard time tearing myself away from the Discovery Channel and National Geographic. Recently, I have purchased a digital camera and now taking photographs has become a new hobby for me.

JJ
I have just finished my first year of veterinary science at Sydney University. I enjoy a wonderful life living with my parents and as a member of WIRES wildlife rescue. I spend my free time surfing and rock climbing. After finishing high school at SHORE School in North Sydney, I traveled alone to Europe for five months and then to the Democratic Republic of Congo where I worked in a chimpanzee half-way house. This was an experience that changed my life. I am currently writing a short chapter to be included in the book “Heart to Heart,” which will look at the relationship between chimps and humans.

Learn more about the Jane Goodall Institute!

Learn more about Roots & Shoots, a program of the Jane Goodall Institute

Learn more about Jane Goodall’s Global Youth Summit!

Leave a Reply

