Eco Art

Today I was looking through the website www.ctgreenscence.com and came across an Eco Art Exhibition at Eastern Connecticut State University. It is a collaboration of eight artists who transformed recycled materials into works of art. The description points out that ” the common thread in this exhibit is the art’s ability to function as gentle forms of ‘protest’ art, what we interpret as beautifully packaged political statements.”

I wanted to post this because I am already thinking about plans for Earth Day and this would be a great idea to “put in the back pocket” until the event planning actually begins. I encourage each of you to look around your community from time to time and take note of future project possibilities. In some cases planning this far in advance can really pay off.

My regret lately is that I didn’t plan an event like this prior to the holidays. I read a statisitc last week that said between Halloween and New Year’s, we throw away over 900,000 tons of garbage each week! This includes packages from food, decorations, dinner party tableware, and wrapping paper. Yikes!

Check back next week for my post on specific eco-friendly ideas that decrease the burden on mother earth.

One Response

  1. Hi I’m a fellow WordPress blogger and an artist who uses materials (mostly Styrofoam) and I think you might be interested in my project. My blog is called “Artist at Exit 0 Riverblog”. I hope you can give it a look.

Leave a Reply

